DIY friendship bracelet kit with *FREE PRINTABLES*

6 Aug

I put together this friendship bracelet kit to send to a certain 9-year-old I know. She doesn’t have any experience making bracelets, so I went with a really simple design. If you want something more complicated there are lots of patterns around the web.

#DIY friendship bracelet kit by makingmondays

Supplies:

embroidery floss in a few colors

cardboard

safety pin or tape

instruction sheet

envelope

I went to the trouble of putting my floss on spools, because it will be much less likely to turn into a tangled ball. Since it is going to a 9-year-old, this is very important. It also allows you to use up embroidery floss you already have.

#DIY friendship bracelet kit by makingmondays

Cut your cardboard into spools. You can cut a template out of graph paper or just wing it. I cut the cardboard into 2inch squares then cut in the indentions freely. Cut a slit in one end of the spool to secure the loose end of floss. Then just wrap the embroidery floss around the spools.

double knot bracelet pattern by makingmondays

Click on the image above to open it full size and print out the instruction sheet.

Then follow the instructions to include a completed bracelet as an example.

#DIY friendship bracelet kit by makingmondays

Put it all together in a cute envelope and you’re done. I made my envelope out of vellum; I like that it alludes to the contents yet, without knowing you still can’t quite guess what it will be.

#DIY friendship bracelet kit by makingmondays

2 Responses to “DIY friendship bracelet kit with *FREE PRINTABLES*”

  1. Needle&Flax November 11, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

    This is a great idea! My sister & I used to spend hours making friendship bracelets from a book we were given by American relatives we visited as kids. I think I’ll make one of these kits for her for Christmas for old time’s sake. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Five Dolla’ Make You Holla’ Holiday Series: Sisters & Daughters | brokeGIRLrich - November 18, 2013

    […] 5.) DIY Friendship Bracelet Kit – pick up some embroidery floss in fun colors (about $.50 a bundle), cut up some cardboard and add a few safety pins and you’ve got a friendship bracelet kit. You can make an envelope out of vellum like the author this blog post suggests or a decorated Altoid tin would do the trick too. Add some printables for different bracelet patterns and you’ve got a great DIY gift for an older girl. […]

Leave a comment