DIY galaxy prints with *FREE PRINTABLES*

29 Jul

I was elated when I discovered that Hubble Telescope images are public domain. That’s right! You can access and print amazing celestial scenes for FREE (or at least just the cost of printing). The HubbleSite provides incredible high resolution images and tons of information. I got lost in it for a few hours when I was picking my images. If you have time, check out how they are colored.

#DIY galaxy prints by makingmondays

Because I know you’re wondering, the above image is under the wing of the Small Magellanic Cloud, one of the Milky Way’s closest neighbors.

To add focus and because I didn’t want to bother with mats, I used Photoshop to make my images round with a white border.

To do this to your images:
1. Download the highest quality image and open in Photoshop
2. Use the Elliptical Marquee Tool
3. Set it to a fixed size and use the same number for the height and width so that it will be a perfect circle (i used 2000px)
4. Select your circle
5. Copy the area
6. Create a new document (I used a 2400px square)
7. Paste

Or if you’d rather skip the work and use the images I chose, just click on them, save, and print! Even the image above with a title is printable, just click and the title will disappear. The images are 8 inch squares which is perfect for a home photo printer, but you can make them larger if you’re willing to take them to a print shop.

#DIY galaxy prints by makingmondays

Above is a jet in the Carina Nebula.

#DIY galaxy prints by makingmondays

This one shows a cloud of gas and dust being molded by radiation in the Small Magellanic Cloud.

#DIY galaxy prints by makingmondays
This one is the Crab Nebula.

I recommend printing the article that corresponds with each image and attaching it to the back of the frame for future reference. If you’re anything like me, you will undoubtedly forget and wonder just exactly where your looking. Click on the description to access the article.

All image credits go to NASA, ESA, and the Hubble Heritage Team (STScI/AURA). Thanks for showing us beyond our world.

7 Responses to “DIY galaxy prints with *FREE PRINTABLES*”

  1. softmechanic August 7, 2013 at 5:24 am #

    These images are amazing! Thanks so much for the photoshop instructions for this – perfect for someone (like me) that is just learning!

  2. rothj258 October 20, 2013 at 10:35 am #

    This is an awesome idea! Glad I clicked on the link!

  3. lovehaightcupcakes October 29, 2013 at 10:00 am #

    I LOVE THIS!

  4. itismeangie November 7, 2013 at 11:23 pm #

    This is amazing… I’m gonna print these babies off and make them into magnets for my fridge. Thank you for this awesomeness

    • makingmondays November 8, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

      Great idea! I’ve been thinking about making some magnets for Christmas gifts, these would be perfect!

  5. irenedesign2011 November 22, 2013 at 1:50 am #

    You have a very nice blog here, just continue with your great style.
    Thanks for your visit and like at my blog.
    Irene

  6. Capt Jill February 1, 2014 at 2:07 am #

    Thanks for posting this great information. Your instructions really helped a lot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

