DIY recycled calendar envelopes

6 Jan

It’s time to change calendars and I couldn’t let the perfect Sierra Club landscapes of last year go to waste, so I made some envelopes.  DIYEnvelope7

Supplies

old calendar pages

ruler

scissors

glue

washi tape (optional)

SuppliesforEnvelopes

I made 4×6 envelopes. I started by drawing a big 8inch by 10inch square on the back. I usually free hand the rest of this but here is a template to show you what I do.

DIYEnvelope8Cut out the large rectangle. Then take 1 inch off of each side of the bottom flap and 1 inch off each side of the top flap. I also trim the top flap at this point, which are the diagonal lines I drew in.

DIYEnvelope11Just add some washi tape around the edge and you’re ready to send it. I suggest using a white paint marker or metallic Sharpie for addressing darker pages.

DIYEnvelope13I also used a couple pages to line envelopes I had on hand. Simply trace the envelope on the image, cut it out, slide into the envelope, and the secure it to the flap with a line of glue.

16 Responses to “DIY recycled calendar envelopes”

  1. Emily January 6, 2014 at 10:34 am #

    This is such an adorable and creative idea! I love it. And your instructional pictures are flawless. (:

  2. Sweets. Eats. And Crafts January 6, 2014 at 10:37 am #

    Great idea!!

  3. laurelissette January 6, 2014 at 11:52 am #

    Thanks for making it easy with the pictures!!! Love this idea!

  4. Stacey January 6, 2014 at 12:24 pm #

    Great idea!

  5. Nicole January 6, 2014 at 3:06 pm #

    Well. This is just great. I can’t cut up my calendars though, I have a compulsion to keep them as mini-memoirs. Magazines! I will do this with magazines. This is such a well done tutorial.

    • makingmondays January 7, 2014 at 10:16 am #

      I can see that. When I was transferring the birthdays to the new calendar, I stopped on all the trips and visits of last year. So many good memories.

      Magazines would work great though!

  6. aearthr January 6, 2014 at 5:11 pm #

    Great idea! One suggestion, post it in http://craftgawker.com/ to attract more craftsters to your site.

  7. LifeOfBun January 7, 2014 at 8:36 am #

    Mine wouldn’t be that crisp looking i’m sure ;D but that’s gorgeous!!

  8. hanalei ho gene January 9, 2014 at 9:39 am #

    So clever!!

  9. cmbanerjee January 9, 2014 at 3:37 pm #

    Love this idea, especially the ones using calendar images to line an envelope 🙂

  10. indusinternationalkitchen January 16, 2014 at 2:03 pm #

    Neat Idea!

  11. Joanne May 8, 2014 at 8:41 pm #

    Hi Kimmy I do this all the time, but in addition, I make greeting cards that match, using the “thumbnail” pictures from the back of my wall calendars too! It’s a win/win, I’m recycling a product by reusing it in a new and creative way and I end up with a stack of 12 blank greeting cards to use anytime for anything!

  12. R. M. Hugel November 27, 2014 at 2:26 pm #

    vey inspiring, simple, yet clever and smilebringing

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Still 10 More Things to Do on a Cold Winter’s Day | Down-Home South Jersey - January 7, 2014

    […] 2013 calendars into envelopes. This idea is brilliant! I wish I had thought of it. Check out the Making Mondays blog for instructions (and many more easy, crafty […]

Leave a comment