Foodie Pen Pals #1

30 Sep

FoodiePenPals

This month for the first time I participated in the Foodie Pen Pals swap through The Lean Green Bean! It pairs you with another eater for a one-time swap of favorite foods, local foods, and specialty foods. It’s a great way to try some new foods and make new connections!

My partner was Colleen from Secrets from the Cookie Princess jump over to her blog to see what I sent her and check out some of her recipes. She’s an avid baker who’s been blogging for 3 years. I feel so lucky to have found her blog; it’s an absolute treasure trove of recipes with over 150 different cookies and bars! She has really put me in a baking mood, just in time for cool weather!

Here’s what she sent me:

IMG_2232

Popped potato chips
Homemade caramel pretzel chocolate chip cookies! YUM
RaspberryΒ  yogurt pretzels
Peanut butter cups
Penzey’s Spices BBQ 3001
Apple Strawberry fruit leather
Trappist cranberry pepper jelly
Pumpkin spice chai latte mix
And two bonuses a raspberry ice cube tray and a mini recipe book!

Everything was great but I’m just going to highlight my favorites:

I tried the Penzey’s Spices BBQ 3001 on some chicken and it was great! It has a nice smoky flavor.

The Trappist Cranberry Pepper Jelly was good on a bagel with a smear of cream cheese, but I feel like it has more potential than that. I’m thinking of trying to make a glaze with it for a pork loin. Any other ideas?

The Pumpkin Chai Latte Mix from Trader Joe’s has been a long time favorite of mine! This stuff is so good, I always feel the need to stock up when it’s in season. It makes a yummy drink, but I’ve tried it in a couple recipes too. It adds such a great fall flavor to things.

I saved the best part for last, the cookies, they were unbelievable! Just the right combo of sweet and salty, my favorite! Caramel, pretzel, AND chocolate chip what could be better! She has clearly earned her title as the Cookie Princess, at least in my eyes. If you don’t believe me go try them for yourself, here’s the recipe.

Caramel, Pretzel, Chocolate Chip Cookies from SecretsFromTheCookiePrincess

I loved everything and I can’t thank Colleen enough. She really put together some yummy treats for my first swap, I know I’ll be looking forward to this every month from now on.

12 Responses to “Foodie Pen Pals #1”

  1. Abbie @ Love You So Blog September 30, 2013 at 4:07 pm #

    This sounds really awesome! Can you just…join?!

    • makingmondays September 30, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

      Yep, no sign up fee and no obligation past the first month (you have to sign up every month you want to participate). Basically it’s just a service to match you with a partner for the month, it’s up to you to talk to them and put together a box. There is a $15 spending limit on putting together your box and you pay shipping. I haven’t gotten any spam from the provider or anything like that. And you only exchange your address with your actual partner.

      I loved it and already signed up to do it again next month. You should definitely go to the Lean Green Bean and check it out. All the details are listed there before you sign up. The deadline for the October swap is the 4th πŸ™‚

      • Abbie @ Love You So Blog September 30, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

        Sounds great! I checked out her blog and it looks really fun πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to participate, thanks for sharing!

  2. Quin September 30, 2013 at 5:08 pm #

    Very cool! I definitely want to do this!

    • makingmondays September 30, 2013 at 7:14 pm #

      πŸ™‚ It’s worth it! I enjoyed everything and can’t wait to do it again next month.

  3. colleen @ Secrets from the Cookie Princess October 1, 2013 at 10:16 am #

    I’m so glad you loved everything. Enjoying making your own batches of the cookies. And the pork loin glaze with the cran pepper jelly sounds perfect! Thanks again for the awesome goodies you sent!

  4. Kelley Galloway October 1, 2013 at 11:32 am #

    I love foodie pen pals! I’ve gotten some really awesome stuff (including local Alaskan BBQ sauce–AMAZING), I haven’t done it in a few months but you’ve just reminded me to sign up again!

    http://www.romancingthespoon.wordpress.com

  5. Her Happy Balance October 2, 2013 at 11:42 am #

    foodie Pen Pal posts are always some of my faves to read. It’s awesome that your pen pal included the mini book and cube tray, love that!

    • makingmondays October 3, 2013 at 9:22 am #

      Right? The cube tray is so cute! I got lucky, she was a great pen pal for my first time!

  6. jessthetics October 4, 2013 at 10:47 am #

    This sounds like great fun, I love the idea of getting to put together a parcel for someone and getting foody suprises in return! Also I’m really jealous of those cookies, they look delicious xx

    • makingmondays October 4, 2013 at 11:03 am #

      Those cookies were amazing. It took all my willpower to hold off on eating them all long enough to get a good photo. I’m so glad Colleen shared her recipe.

      PS if you’re interested in joining in, today is the last day to sign up for the October swap. I’m hoping for a lot of fall themed treats this time around πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Foodie Pen Pal Reveal! | Love You So {Blog} - November 3, 2013

    […] package I’ve gotten in the mail to date. After reading Making Mondays‘ post about her Foodie Pen Pal back in September I decided to join the fun. Lindsay from The Lean Green Bean has fused food and […]

Leave a Reply

