Cooking with Pinterest: Cara’s Crispy Orange Cauliflower

29 Aug

Just like many of you, I have an overflowing Pinterest board full of recipes. In an effort to actually cook more of these delicious recipes, I’m starting a new segment. I will include a link to the original recipe (click the link or the image) to keep credit where credit is due, any substitutions, and a short review. I present to you my first installment of: Cooking with Pinterest!

Pinterest

This week I made Cara’s Crispy Orange Cauliflower from Vegan Richa (a guest post from Cara at Fork and Beans).

Crispy Orange Cauliflower

I did alter the recipe slightly. In the interest of not buying extra ingredients (I am not sensitive to gluten), I used flour instead of the gluten-free flour blend. Just a simple straight across substitution. 1/4 cup flour instead of 1/4 cup Cara’s gluten-free flour blend. I also omitted the 1 tsp oil in the batter. Everything else remained the same.

It was amazing. I cannot overstate how delicious this turned out. The cauliflower was the perfect amount of tender by the time the outside was golden brown. And the sauce was both sweet and tangy. Perfect, I’ve tried other orange chicken recipes and this was by far the best sauce I’ve came across. The green onion complimented the flavors perfectly. I served it over rice with a salad. Delicious and pseudo-healthy, what more could you ask for?

Head over to Vegan Richa and try it for yourself!

6 Responses to “Cooking with Pinterest: Cara’s Crispy Orange Cauliflower”

  1. Robyn October 10, 2013 at 9:41 am #

    This looks delicious!

  2. Amanda C. October 10, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

    I love the idea of cooking through your pinterest page. Things can get overwhelming in there to say the least, so it helps keep things in check when you actually use the things you pin rather than going crazy at the click of a mouse button!

    • makingmondays October 10, 2013 at 9:14 pm #

      Seriously! Some things just have such delicious-looking pictures, it’s hard to not pin them all.

  3. Amy November 3, 2013 at 7:32 am #

    Did you use the rice vinegar then?

    • makingmondays November 3, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

      Yeah, I made the sauce according to the recipe. It was great!

  4. swisspris November 4, 2013 at 11:13 pm #

    What a genius idea for a segment! I might just “steal” it for my own blog. Haha! Thanks for stopping by, by the way 🙂 Let me know if you do try my recipes and if you liked them.

Leave a Reply

