Pumpkin Spice Chai Rice Krispie Treats

7 Oct

Since my foodie pen pal sent me a canister of Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Spice Chai Latte mix, I thought I would share this amazing recipe that uses it. Pumpkin spice is one of my favorite things about fall and I am fine with it making it’s way into practically everything! It’s so delicious and seems to make me feel like putting on a sweater even if it is still 85º outside here.

Pumpkin Spice Rice Krispie Treats from MakingMondays.wordpress.com

Basically you just add the Latte Mix to standard Rice Krispie treats, but here’s the recipe for good measure.

Ingredients:
3 TBS butter or margarine
4 cups mini marshmallows
6 TBS Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Spice Chai Latte Mix
6 cups rice cereal

  1. In a microwave-safe bowl, heat butter and marshmallows for about 3 minutes. Stir after 2 minutes and continue to heat.
  2.  Stir in drink mix.
  3. Add rice cereal. Stir until well coated.
  4. Spread mixture into a buttered pan or onto a piece of parchment paper (use wet hands to keep it from sticking). Cool and serve.

I imagine this recipe would work with a lot of other drink mixes, but I’ve really only tried it with this. I’m thinking of trying Salted Caramel next time!

23 Responses to “Pumpkin Spice Chai Rice Krispie Treats”

  1. pamelajeannestudio October 7, 2013 at 10:59 am #

    I’m like you, I’ll take anything with pumpkin in it this time of year. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  2. Nicole October 7, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

    Well shit, these sound damn fine. Loving the photo as well, super clever. My only worry is that I would sit down with a fork (ha, if that) and it a whole pan of this in one go. I’m that kind of guy.

  3. Nicole October 7, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

    it=eat, I’m assuming you picked up on that, given the context.

    • makingmondays October 7, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

      I understand completely. If it weren’t for photos these wouldn’t have lasted as long as they did, which was far less than 24 hours. And thanks! I’m starting to get the hang of this blog photography thing :) I saw you’re doing a photo challenge, I love that idea! I could use more practice.

  4. myeyesarerocks October 7, 2013 at 5:46 pm #

    I think you may have just made my…my entire October. Though I moved to a city without a TJ’s (and what a DAMN SHAME it is) I will find a replacement, and I will savor the hell out of these babies.
    Thanks for the recipe!

    • makingmondays October 7, 2013 at 6:45 pm #

      Awe what a shame! These are so worth tracking down a replacement for. Good luck!

  5. Karen October 8, 2013 at 1:40 am #

    These sound awesome!

  6. Kelley Galloway October 8, 2013 at 7:51 am #

    Thanks for visiting my blog! This recipe is amazing–I look forward to making it myself! :)

  7. spiritwavecheer October 8, 2013 at 4:27 pm #

    Oh YUM! I will be trying these soon!

  8. SueBee and Kat October 8, 2013 at 9:04 pm #

    Sounds yummy – must show to Kat, the baker! ~SueBee
    PS, your blog is adorable with lots of great ideas!

  9. Miranda October 9, 2013 at 6:16 am #

    I’m an ashamed to admit that every time I attempt to make rice crispy treats they fail. But yours look yummy!

  10. Quin October 9, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

    I nominated you for the Leibster Award :)

    http://laybareblog.wordpress.com/2013/10/10/liebster-award-thankful/

    • makingmondays October 10, 2013 at 10:42 am #

      Thank you so much! That’s so nice, I’ll check it out.

  11. leharper October 10, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

    (thank you for liking my post!) Those look amazing! can’t wait to try them at home!

  12. toniegirl October 10, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

    Trader Joe’s is on my list this weekend and I will be making these!

  13. Sheryl October 11, 2013 at 7:31 pm #

    mmm. . . it looks delicious.

  14. catseatdogs Makes and Bakes October 16, 2013 at 11:25 am #

    Ok, so now you are just distracting me from my blog writing! I came over to check your URL for links and look what I found. These look delish and I want to make them right now, and my post will never get done!! x

    • makingmondays October 16, 2013 at 1:40 pm #

      Skip the blogging and go make these. So worth it!

  15. Lisa Elizabeth October 31, 2013 at 6:57 am #

    Oh my, good LORD these look awesome! I have to try this! By the way, your blog is awesome!

    • makingmondays October 31, 2013 at 8:58 am #

      Thanks! These are SO good and easy, you should definitely try them.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Party Idea: Candy Apple Bar | The Sisters' Soiree - October 8, 2013

    […] From Making Mondays Blog, Pumpkin Spice Chai Rice Krispies […]

  2. The Liebster Award | catseatdogsmakesandbakes - October 16, 2013

    […] not done!).   She blogs about all kinds of wonderfulness,  and good grief I need to make these right […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 841 other followers

